World Environment Day (WED) celebrated on the 5th of June every year, is the United Nations’ principal vehicle for encouraging worldwide awareness and action for the protection of our environment. First held in 1973, it has been a flagship campaign for raising awareness on emerging environmental issues from marine pollution, human overpopulation, global warming, sustainable consumption and wildlife crime. WED has grown to become a global platform for public outreach, with participation from over 143 countries annually. Each year, WED raises a new theme that major corporations, NGOs, communities, governments and celebrities worldwide adopt to advocate environmental causes.


Over the years, various individuals and corporate organisations have continued to contribute to the process of making the environment better. Most of these individuals and corporate organisations are often not noticed or recognised for their contributions to the environment. In view of this, the Lagos State Government through the Ministry of the environment and Water Resources  has instituted an environmental award tagged ‘’Lagos Green Award’’. The Lagos Green Award is designed to recognised individual and corporate organisation who have contributed to making the Lagos Environment better.

Lagos Green Award will recognize individuals, groups or businesses whose actions improved environmental resilience in the city of Lagos in the areas of:

  • Environmental Management
  • Best Environmental Practices
  • Oil Spill Management
  • Health, Safety & Environmental Performance
  • Waste Prevention & Recycling
  • Solid Waste Treatment & Disposal
  • Emissions Control Technologies
  • Natural Resources Conservation
  • Innovation and Sustainable Solutions

This level of recognition is competition based,  participating units will be assessed against separate sets of environmental performance criteria which may encompass some of those used in the assessment of the various sectors.

The number of awardees will be limited to one Gold Award, one Silver Award, one Bronze Award for each sector. The sectors are:

(a) Construction Industry;

(b) Property Management;

(c) Transport and Logistics;

(d) Retailers;

(e) Hotels, Restaurants and Catering Companies;

(f) Financial Institutions; and

(g) NGOs and Public sector

(H) Industry

(I) Media

Entries must clearly identify an environment initiative and how it had, or continues to have, an impact on Lagos State.

Entries could be submitted to:

The Permanent Secretary,

Office of Environmental Service,

Ministry of the environment,

Block 16, The Secretariat Annex, Alausa,

Ikeja, Lagos

Alternatively, you can email: lagosstateministryoftheenviron@gmail.com, alasisi@lagosstate.gov.ng, temitope.bello@lagosstate.gov.ng

Closing date for entries is May 20, 2022.